popular Akinetic lowest new arrival outlet online sale

popular Akinetic lowest new arrival outlet online sale

popular Akinetic lowest new arrival outlet online sale
popular Akinetic lowest new arrival outlet online sale_top


''Wide-eyed and instantly likable...'' POP MATTERS // ''...lovely...the perfect soundtrack to your snow soaked mid-week.'' SPIN // ''...expertly crafted...'' PASTE // ''...deftly arranged metropolitan pop...'' STEREOGUM // Akinetic, the new album from Chicago songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Erik Hall''s one-man polymathic project In Tall Buildings sees its creator plunge headlong into allegories of communication, loss, impulse, vice, and mass-denialism. With the addition of producer and engineer Brian Deck (Modest Mouse, Iron & Wine) Hall crashes through the aforementioned subject matter with brightness and lucidity, yielding his most intelligent and focused songwriting yet. Working out of his house with Deck in Pilsen, Chicago, Hall''s efforts yield ten tracks of spacious and textured handmade pop, comprising one of the most sharply written and deftly recorded home-studio albums in memory. Where his previous titles were natural documents of his musicianship and songcraft, Akinetic arose from deliberate intent to write in concrete pop forms, lyrically informed by what he observed of modern culture, namely its fixation on technology-driven pseudo-progress at the cost of direct communication. "Rather than merely dwell in an inviting musical bed," Hall states, "I wanted to write songs with intentionality that would more directly declare themselves to a listener instead of just passively inviting them in." The epilogue Wake Up takes classic In Tall Buildings form with fluttering guitar, softly thumping drums, and Hall''s trademark production flourishes. Tape-crushed voices chirp behind the instruments (all played by Hall, as per the rest of the album) as our host poetically urges us to do what the song''s title suggests. The lights slowly fade up on Akinetic showing it for exactly what it is: a crystal clear, well-crafted montage of honest emotion, with pointed social commentary crouching just beneath the topsoil

Track Listings

1 Beginning to Fade
2 Akinetic
3 Long Way Down
4 Overconscious
5 Cascadia
6 Siren Song
7 Curtain
8 New Moon
9 Days in Clover
10 Wake Up

Product information